Brussels Sprouts and Eggs

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Tired from a long day at work, I began rummaging my fridge earlier this evening, searching for ingredients for a simple, quick, yet healthy non-microwavable dinner. Coachella is only a few weeks away, and I am trying to slim down for the big event. Ever since I started living on my own and buying my own groceries, I have consciously made an effort to stock my fridge with lots of veggies, tofu, all sorts of fish, white meat… which have been predominantly successful with the exception of me always having at least two pints of ice creams if I’m going to be totally honest. Lately, I can’t get enough of Trader Joe’s Coffee Blast and Maeda-en’s Green Tea, but I disgress.

After a few minutes of searching my fridge, I soon realize that I had a disproportionate amount of Brussels sprouts. So in an attempt to consume them before they perish, I put together a quick and simple dish, recipe courtesy of Naturally Ella. They are absolutely delicious and are better eaten straight from the skillet! I must say, Reality didn’t venture far out from Expectations!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Brussels Sprouts (halves or quarters)
  • 1 clove of garlic (minced)
  • 2 tbs of avocado oil (or butter or olive oil)
  • 2 large organic eggs
  • Coarse bread crumbs
  • Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Melt butter or pour avocado/olive oil into cast iron skillet on medium heat
  2. Sauté garlic and Brussels sprouts together until tender and slightly toasted
  3. Add salt and pepper to taste
  4. Create space in the middle for the eggs
  5. Crack the eggs into the skillet and reduce to low heat until desired consistency. (I placed a lid on top of the skillet when I observed eggs not cooking evenly.)
  6. Sprinkle with toasted bread crumbs and serve
  7. Enjoy!

Xx,
Adrielle

4 thoughts on “Brussels Sprouts and Eggs

Leave a comment